Leather Check

leatherAfter performing Aires Above the Ground and then SHPLAT on the ground last week, followed by a 6-hour trip to the ER, I decided to get back on my horse (a different one!) today for a nice, gentle ride. All was going well until I stepped into trot and took a rather large and unplanned step, indeed, when my stirrup leather broke, flinging the iron into the sand somewhere and me lurching as my foot continued in a downward trajectory like a missed stair step. Luckily, I was balanced enough and my steady-Eddie horse didn’t care. Considering the bad equine juju I’ve been experiencing this week, I elected to get off, find that lost stirrup iron, and do some gardening instead. I figured my mishap last week likely put extreme torque on an already worn leather. It’s a wonder it didn’t let go when I mounted! Lesson learned–check you tack before you ride.

About lrtrovi

I am a writer in Howard County, Maryland who spends free time practicing the art of dressage on my horses, haunting the local bookstores and libraries for the next great read, and working on my own novels.
This entry was posted in General Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

