Glamorous Horse-owner Jobs #1

People I meet say they envy me because I have horses and I’m able to keep them on my own property. I have to agree– I love them and enjoy taking care of them. But I wonder about those people who only see the gleaming horses, the mowed pastures, the swept and tidy barn (on those rare occasions when the moon and stars align!) and do not see the work that goes into caring for horses. Dirty work. So, for you–parents of horse-crazed kids who are begging for their own horse– or those who are thinking they’ll “save money” by tucking a horse or two into their large back yard, I offer the following series entitled: Glamorous Horse-owner Jobs. Just the other day, I was elbow deep in a winter’s worth of algae slime, scrubbing it out of the water trough, so I’ll offer that as Job #1. trough

The picture gives you an idea of how difficult it is to reach in, getting your whole head close to that slime, and with a stiff brush scrub off the stubborn algae and other unidentifiable crud. But, the picture can’t give you the total sensory experience of the smell and slime. It’s a gift that keeps on giving, because my little terrier unfailingly gets in the dirty water and mud. But, like any job worth doing, it’s worth doing right and is very gratifying to see sparkling clean drinking water for my horses. That is, until Dorrie decides to stick her leg in it.

About lrtrovi

I am a writer in Howard County, Maryland who spends free time practicing the art of dressage on my horses, haunting the local bookstores and libraries for the next great read, and working on my own novels.
This entry was posted in General Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

