The Things We Do for Love

We have had an unprecedented winter here in the Mid Atlantic. My horses came in the other day with icicles hanging from the edge of their blankets, the guard hairs under their chins, and down the back of their legs. My Clyde cross, Paddy, has an abundance of hair down his back legs and fetlocks which have attracted the melting and freezing run-off. When I told my husband the poor horse had icicles hanging from his butt, he dubbed them “assicles.” Sadly, the result of increased rough hay and extreme conditions contributed to “the runs,” which, in turn, froze down the back of his legs, collected on the tail strap of his blanket, and generally made a huge mess. In sub-zero temps I went to the barn to free my beloved from this humiliation by removing and soaking the tail strap, cutting off the most egregious lumps. and washing down his butt and legs with warm, soapy water. With reddened hands, frozen fingers, and a filthy, wet coat, I returned to the house knowing that my beloved horse was more comfortable that night.

About lrtrovi

I am a writer in Howard County, Maryland who spends free time practicing the art of dressage on my horses, haunting the local bookstores and libraries for the next great read, and working on my own novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

