Pond Scum

pondscumHave you ever called someone “pond scum?” Do you have any idea how truly hideous that is? I know from personal experience that pond scum has all the ick factors going for it: slimy, vomit green, stinky and stringy. I know, because I have a small ornamental pond beside my house which I foolishly situated under some trees. With the warm, dry fall we have had here in the mid-Atlantic, the pond scum and algae have multiplied out of control. I have to change the pump filter often, and still I see the water is swirling with debris when I pull it up. This is a horrible task in the cold weather, when sticking my arm into the dirty, scummy water is an act of will. On a positive note, however, I love my pond. I have three beautiful fish who come to the surface when I approach (probably because they want food) and the sound of the waterfall is so lovely, especially on a hot, summer evening. If anyone else out there has some good tips for pond care and keeping it clear, please share! Fall is here and winter’s heavy boots are heard not far behind. It will be time for everything, including the fish and the pond, to be winding down.

About lrtrovi

I am a writer in Howard County, Maryland who spends free time practicing the art of dressage on my horses, haunting the local bookstores and libraries for the next great read, and working on my own novels.
This entry was posted in General Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

