Meet the Horses

Paddy and Dorrie

Paddy and Dorrie

Silver Horse Farm is now home to three equines: my daughter’s old pony, Buddy, a master at Pony Club games and general hi jinx, Patrick Murphy, a 13-yr old Clydesdale/TB who has carried me through everything from a first fox hunt to dressage championship, and my young Oldenburg mare, Willadore, who has been quite a training challenge, through no fault of her own. More on that later. I love each of my horses in a different way, as each brings their own unique personality into the relationship. After all, that’s what riding and training is when you boil it all down to its essence–the relationship between horse and rider. Maintaining, correcting, nurturing and building those relations is what’s so difficult. Not unlike a marriage, each one has to carry his/her own weight and take responsibility for their half of the deal. I’ve been guilty as a rider of “doing too much.” I would like to explore the training relationship as I work through some problems with my two riding horses. To explain: Patrick Murphy (Paddy) was diagnosed with EPM several years ago. He was aggressively treated and seems to have recovered fully; however, he lost fitness and I believe has also had to compensate perhaps for some neuro damage. We have had to re-train him how to be straight, and to carry himself again. Willadore (Dorrie) has an undiagnosed issue with her neck, which, when it becomes stiff or acts up, tends to make her anxious and unpredictable. She’s going for a full veterinary work-up next week. It’s always better to know exactly what you are dealing with, and a remarkable percentage of behavior issues are physiological at their root. I’ve gone through a series of emotional reactions over the “rotten luck” I’ve had with my horses, ranging from anger of the unfairness of it all (when I take good care of them!), to sadness that their potential can not be realized, to frustration over my goals once again being side-lined. I have to be a bit philosophical at times, as I do believe certain horses come into your life for a reason. Just got to figure out what that reason might be. Take care all and enjoy every ride!

About lrtrovi

I am a writer in Howard County, Maryland who spends free time practicing the art of dressage on my horses, haunting the local bookstores and libraries for the next great read, and working on my own novels.
This entry was posted in General Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

